Home » Articles posted by zoothorn

Author Archives: zoothorn

Architects & Places

Make the Pictures Bigger

Click on any picture to enlarge it.
Use the browser back button to return to the post.

St Paul, Church Hill, Winchmore Hill

Not far from the station, and rather hidden in trees, this is a very wide church of 1826-27 by John Davies. The original chancel was very short but a new larger one was added in 1889 along with vestries.

St Hugh, Porlock Street, Bermondsey

At the base of a small block of flats, not far from St George the Martyr. The church is entered through a hall area and has several 19th-century Clayton and Bell windows from the previous building now mounted at ground level inside both the church and hall. The original St Hugh was in the basement of the Charterhouse-in-Southwark Mission Settlement and was built in 1896 but it was demolished in 2011. The new church is at street level and was opened in 2013.

St Mary Magdalene, Bermondsey Street, Bermondsey

This is the historic parish church of Bermondsey and the lower part of the tower is still medieval. It is mostly is a rebuilding by Charles Stanton of 1675-1679. However, its external appearance is due to a stucco coating and a very un-archaeological gothic west front added in 1830 by George Porter.

St Philip and St Mark, Avondale Square, Bermondsey

On the edge of a square of 1960s housing, the church, which is one of N.F. Cachemaile-day’s last dating from 1963, replaced a church of 1875 destroyed in WW2, although the hall survived next door.


St Anne, Thorburn Square, Bermondsey

Now surrounded by 1960s low rise housing, this is a church of 1869-1870 by J. Porter.

St Mark (Former), Coburg Road, Camberwell now New Peckham Mosque

The chancel, nave eastern end and south chancel aisle (none visible from the road) are by R. Norman saw from 1879-1884. The western end, that is visible, dates from 1932. It closed as a church in 1965 and was in various uses until it became the New Peckham Mosque in 1980. It is on the edge of the late 20th century Burgess Park.

St Giles, Camberwell Church Street, Camberwell

Alongside the road with a spacious but cleared churchyard behind. This is an early Scott and Moffat church from 1844, it replaced a church that burnt down in 1841. It is one of the earliest large scholarly gothic revival churches.