Home » James, John
Category Archives: James, John
In narrow streets between the Thames and the station, this is Rotherhithe’s old parish church. The medieval church was replaced over the period 1714-1747 by this classical building attributed to John James and Lawrence Dowbiggin (Tower). A restoration was carried out in 1876 by William Butterfield.
The body of the church was built in 1715 by John James to effectively act as a private chapel for nearby Cannons owned by the Earl of Chandos. The 15th century tower was retained from the old parish church. The ceiling was painted by Laguerre and the walls by Sleter. The east and west end ceilings are by Bellucci. On the north side is the anteroom and main Chandos Mausoleum built 1735-36 by James Gibbs and housing the huge Grinling Gibbons monument to the Duke of Chandos and his wives.The walls and ceiling are decorated by Sleter and G. Brunetti. The whole building is an overwhelming baroque experience.
In the shadow of the Abbey and opposite the Houses of Parliament. It was built 1482-1523. The Nave was designed by the mason Robert Stowell and the tower by the mason Henry Redman. The tower was rebuilt by John James ion 1735-37 and there was a major restoration by George Gilbert Scott in 1877-78. The chancel was extended by Walter Tower in 1905-06 and J.L. Pearson added west and south-east porches in 1891 and 1894 respectively. The east window is Dutch from 1515-27.