A church with a fascinating history. It was built, as the Ark of The Covenant for a now defunct sect called the Agapemones, in 1892-95 by Joseph Morris and Sons of Reading. It was used by the Ancient Catholic Church as the Church of the Good Shepherd , before becoming the Georgian Orthodox Cathedral in 2011. The outsize sculptures on the tower are by A.G. Walters. The interior has a complete set of contemporary glazing designed by Walter Crane and made by J Sylvester Sparrow.
Home » London Borough of Hackney » Ark of the Covenant (Former) then Church of the Good Shepherd (Former), Rookwood Road, Upper Clapton now Georgian Orthodox Cathedral Church of the Nativity of Our Lord